Professional Certification Designations


The CCSM designation is open to managers whose responsibility covers the management of the service encounter at the workplace.

About the Programme

The CCSM programme is designed for managers whose desire it is to achieve acknowledgement of their skills and competencies. The review session will provide candidates the opportunity to sharpen their management and leadership skills. Earning the CCSM credential requires in-depth knowledge in the following areas: managing people, managing operations, leadership, strategies for promoting and embedding a service culture, and managing the service encounter at the workplace.

Steps in Obtaining Certification
Step 1-Practical Experience Requirement
Before applying for the CCSM programme, you need to ensure that you meet the experience requirement set by CSAJ Board. The CCSM designation is open only to managers whose responsibility covers the management of the service encounter at the workplace.
Candidates work through a job performance checklist with their supervisors. The CSAJ standards for each area of performance are printed on the checklist, allowing candidates to practice those tasks and master the required skills.

Step 2 - Review Session
After the candidate has met the practical requirement he/she is now ready to prepare for the theoretical aspect of the certification. This is a three-day (18 hr.) review session that focuses on the strategies for promoting and maintaining a service culture at the workplace and the strategies for managing and supervising the service encounter. An easy-to-use CCSM Review Guide will be provided for each candidate prior to the review session to give them time to become familiar with the material.

Step 3 - Theory Examination
The day after the three-day (18 hr.) Review Session is exam day. The exam will be three hours. It will be a multiple choice examination comprising 150 questions. Candidates would need to obtain a pass mark of at least 60% to be successful.

Step 4 - Certification
Certification will be granted to those candidates passing the examination. They will be awarded CSAJ's CCSM designation. Candidates who fail will be given two more chances to re-sit the examination at a small cost.

Re-certification Programme
Once certified you will automatically be registered in a re-certification programme. Every five (5) years professionals will be re-certified based on professional accomplishments. You will be issued with a new CSAJ lapel pin and CSAJ certificate of designation.

What does the Certification Fee cover?
Fees include course materials, CSAJ lapel pin with appropriate designation, certificate for those who qualify and reach the 60% passing score, review session and examination session.